South Okanagan Amateur Players

Annual General Meeting 7 pm, June 18, 2015 Quail's Nest Arts Centre, Oliver, BC

Agenda:

- 1. Call to Order: President Patrick Turner called the meeting to order and thanked those in attendance, at 7:00pm.
- Introductions: the following voting members were introduced: Joan Cameron, Chelsea Cameron-Horner, Brohm, Dason, Elaine Ecker, Peter Gajda, Diane Gludovatz, Aimee Grice, Jen Jensen, Penelope Johnson, Nathan Linders, Bernice Myllyniemi, Ted Osborne, Christine Rothwell, Robin Stille, Patrick Turner
- 3. Adoption of Agenda: Moved Ted Osborne CARRIED
- 4. Adoption of 2014 AGM Minutes as amended: (to correct spelling/typing errors) Moved Robin Stille CARRIED
- 5. Business Arising from Minutes:

Name Change - No firm action or recommendations made.

- 6. President's Report: (see attached)
- 7. Treasurer's Report: (see attached) Moved acceptance of report: Jen Jensen seconded Peter Gajda CARRIED
- 8. Annual Reports 2014-2015

Oliver Arts Council Report - Penelope Johnson and Nathan Linders

Music in the Park will be staged at the Community Stage (bandshell). The rain venue is the adjacent Community Hall.

A memorial bench for Jennifer Mapplebeck will be installed on the side of the Studio Building at Quail's Nest Arts Centre pending board approval. Donations readily accepted.

Contracted Services agreement: applicants should hear in the next week. The formal announcement will be July 15.

Osoyoos Arts Council Report - Ted Osborne and Robin Stille

The council applied for and received a Youth Innovations Fund grant allowing lessons for youth in music and art.

Osoyoos' Music in the Park is not run through Arts Council, but is scheduled.

This year's focus for the group was revamping their by-laws.

Oliver Community Theatre Society - Christine Rothwell

The lease and operating agreement are finally in place and will be officially signed at a regular School Board Meeting at 7:00 June 24. It will be a photo op.

Theatre Manager is BettyAnne Hampton

Discussions are ongoing about "co-producing" performers, acts or series

(ex. children's/youth series)

First AGM July 15

A Volunteer appreciation to be held in the fall

Discussions and research into a variety of companies/programs who offer online ticketing, which theatre user groups (read SOAP) may be able to use.

New rails have been installed in the house at Venables to ensure safety on the stairway. SOAP will be well represented as Tom Szalay is currently on the board and Aimee Grice will be joining the board.

Many thanks should be extended to Wendy Newman without whose knowledge and dedication to this Theatre, none of the successes of the past year and a half would have happened.

9. Old Business: None

10. New Business:

O-Zone Festival: Several of our board traveled to Vernon to see how the festival operates as SOAP is hosting the 2016 Okanagan Zone Theatre Festival.

Nathan has volunteered to chair the festival committee.

Nathan has applied for a provincial grant which hopefully will offset some of the expenses.

Nathan has been in contact with Tony Mundy of OOWA (Oliver Osoyoos Winery Association). They may be interesting in sponsoring us, pouring wine and providing finger food for a couple of events at the festival. We need to research possible issues with insurance.

Adele Kuyek, who is with Okanagan Zone committee, will be coming to Oliver Saturday, June 20 for a financial meeting and photo op. All are welcome to join the breakfast meeting at the Cock and Bull for further information.

2015-2016 Season - *Noises Off* Director Ted Osborne gave a synopsis, character description, and outlined the challenges of staging the production.

Performance dates are the third week on January 2016. All four performances (Thursday, Friday and two on Saturday) will be at the Frank Venables Theatre. Auditions are 7:00 Sunday, June 21 at the Osoyoos Art Gallery (upstairs) and in Big Blue in Oliver at 7:00pm on Monday, June 22, 2015

Other: We need to look for a spring production which will be entered into O-Zone. Rehearsals will start immediately following *Noises Off*.

11. Election of Officers:

President: Nathan Linders
Vice-president: Diane Gludovatz
Secretary: Aimee Grice
Treasurer: Jen Jensen
Directors: Ted Osborne

Christine Rothwell Penelope Johnson

Past President: Patrick Turner

Motion to Destroy the ballots: Christine Rothwell CARRIED

Ted Osborne, on behalf of the attendees, thanked Patrick Turner for his brilliant leadership over the past five years. A standing ovation followed.

Adjournment: Outgoing president, Patrick Turner, thanked everyone for their attendance and participation and called for adjournment. Moved Joan Cameron CARRIED 8:26pm